New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch

Keep your contact information up-to-date.

NH Bar's Litigation Guidelines
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency

Member Login
username and password

2014 Annual Meeting Honors & Awards
At the Honors and Awards Luncheon - Friday, June 20
Special President’s Awards

John Tobin, retiring next month after 18 years as executive director of NH Legal Assistance, will be honored for his leadership and vision during a career dedicated to civil legal assistance for the poor and vulnerable.

Foreclosure Relief Project, HomeHelpNH, 2-1-1 NH
A remarkable coalition of legal services and social services agencies has mobilized to assist homeowners facing foreclosure. Their remarkable teamwork and can-do spirit are making a real difference in the lives of New Hampshire residents, providing information and advocacy to help them preserve ownership of their homes.

The awards presentation will also include special thanks to James Boffetti, senior assistant attorney general and chief of the Consumer Protection Bureau; and Glenn Perlow, NH Banking Commissioner, for their assistance in launching this project.

Recognition of the 50-Year Members of the Bar

Ashod N. Amirian
Robert A. Backus
Harry C. Batchelder, Jr.
Alexander A. Bernhard
Robert J. Cotton
Bradley R. Coury
W. Wright Danenbarger
Robert E. Dastin
Harold E. Ekstrom
J. Roderick Falby, Jr.
Robert H. Fryer
  Martin L. Gross
William A. Hartley
Robert Leslie
Norman J. Marsh
William S. Orcutt
Charles R. Parrott
Charles Solms, III
Joseph D. Steinfield
Gerald Taube
Donald F. Whittum
At the President's Banquet - Friday, June 20
NHBA Justice William A. Grimes Award for Judicial Professionalism
Retired Circuit Court Judge Albert J. Cirone Jr. will receive the 2014 Justice William Grimes Award for Judicial Professionalism. Known for fairness from the bench and commitment to Lebanon and the Upper Valley community, Cirone has worked as a sole practitioner for many years and as a judge since 1988. Cirone was instrumental in establishing the “Halls of Hope” mental health court in Lebanon.

NHBA Award for Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession
Mary Searles, the New Hampshire Law Librarian, is this year’s recipient of the NHBA Award for Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession. Searles will celebrate her tenth year as the NH State Law Librarian in July. With a tight budget and small staff, Searles has strived to maintain the integrity of the library’s print collection while exploring and expanding online resources, and enhancing collaborative relationships with reference librarians in public libraries. Searles previously worked at the NH Bar Association, heading up its Lawyer Referral Service.

E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism
NH Supreme Court Clerk Eileen Fox will receive the 2014 E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism at the President’s Banquet. Named for one of Fox’s early mentors at the Devine Millimet firm, the award celebrates the esteem Fox has earned among her colleagues both as an attorney in private practice at the Devine firm and as NH Supreme Court staff attorney, legal counsel and clerk.

Recognition of Recently Retired and
Appointed Members of the Judiciary
Recently Retired Judges
US District Court
Hon. Steven J. McAuliffe (senior status)

Superior Court
Hon. Timothy J. Vaughan
Hon. John M. Lewis

Circuit Court
Hon. Thomas E. Bamberger
Hon. Daniel M. Cappiello
Hon. Albert J. Cirone, Jr.
Hon. Peter G. Hurd

Recently Appointed Judges
US District Court
Hon. Landya B. McCafferty
Hon. Andrea K. Johnstone

Superior Court
Hon. David A. Anderson
Hon. Lawrence A. MacLeod, Jr.
Hon. Charles S. Temple

Circuit Court
Hon. Susan B. Carbon
Hon. Robert J. Foley
Hon. David Forrest
Hon. Elizabeth M. Leonard
Hon. Margaret-Ann Moran
Hon. Patricia B. Quigley

Recognition of Outgoing Officers and Board Members
Immediate Past President: Lawrence A. Vogelman
Governor-at-Large: Quentin J. Blaine
Hillsborough North Governor: Scott H. Harris
Hillsborough South Governor: David C. Tencza
Strafford County Governor: F. X. (Francis) Bruton
Recognition of Returning Officers & Board Members
President-elect: Mary E. Tenn
Governor-at-Large: Jonathan M. Eck
Belknap County Governor: Suzanne S. McKenna
Carroll County Governor: Dennis L. Morgan
Sullivan County Governor: Lanea A. Witkus
Recognition of New Officers & Board Members
Vice President: David W. Ruoff
Governor-at-Large:Edward D. Philpot, Jr.
Hillsborough North Governor: David W. McGrath
Hillsborough South Governor: Catherine E. Shanelaris
Strafford County: Edward T. Clancy
Presentation of Bar Leadership Gavel to 2014-2015 President Lisa Wellman-Ally

Recognition of Outgoing 2013-2014 Bar President Jaye L. Rancourt

Annual Meeting Registration Information
Registration is closed. Walk-in registrations will be accepted on-site on a space-available basis.

NHLAP: A confidential Independent Resource

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer