Pro Bono Active Status
Fiscal year June 1 – May 31
Members who are otherwise not engaged in the practice of law in any jurisdiction, or who occupy a position the duties of which do not require the giving of legal advice or services in New Hampshire or any other jurisdiction, are eligible to request Limited Active Membership Status for NHBA PBRS Pro Bono Service for the sole purpose of providing civil pro bono legal services to the indigent. The NHBA Board of Governors reserves the right to grant and rescind Limited Active Membership Status for NHBA PBRS, and strongly encourages members requesting or maintaining this membership status to volunteer for approved civil legal services through the NHBA Pro Bono Referral Service for a minimum of 40 hours per year.
Members interested in being on Pro Bono Active Status must first contact NHBA Director for Legal Services Virginia Martin.
Annual NHMCLE Requirement
NH Supreme Court Rule 53
Compliance year July 1 - June 30
To assist the Supreme Court with effective and efficient application of Supreme Court Rule 53, administration of the NHMCLE program is based at the Bar Center and overseen by the court-appointed New Hampshire Minimum Continuing Legal Education Board. The NHMCLE program of the New Hampshire Supreme Court should not be confused with the New Hampshire Bar Association’s Continuing Legal Education program. NH Supreme Court Rule 53.
If admitted during the reporting year with less than 9 months remaining in the reporting year, there is no NHMCLE requirement for that reporting year.
Up to 10 "general" credit hours (600 minutes) and 2 "Ethics" credit hours (120 minutes) can be carried forward to the next NHMCLE reporting year, if not needed in the current reporting year.
Practical Skills Course
NH Supreme Court Rule 42 (7); Sections (a) – (c)
The NHBA Practical Skills Course must be taken within two (2) years of being sworn in to the NH Bar. NH Supreme Court Rule 42.
Annual Trust Accounting Compliance
Certificate & Mandatory IOLTA Certification
NH Supreme Court Rule 50
If a member is Active at any point in the Fiscal Year (June 1 – May 31), a TAC form must be completed and filed. Failure to file this form by August 1st will result in a NH Supreme Court imposed fine of $100 for each month or fractions thereof that the form remains unfiled. Please see the NH Practice Compliance Deadlines graphic below for further details. NH Supreme Court Rule 50.