New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch

Choose NHBA•CLE...Our Success is Your Success.

NH Bar's Litigation Guidelines
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency

Member Login
username and password

NH Minimum Continuing Legal Education
Memo to New Lawyers


TO:  New Members of the NHBA
RE:Annual Minimum Continuing Legal Education Requirement - SCR 53 / Rule Summary

The NHMCLE Board is pleased to welcome you to the New Hampshire Bar Association.  One of your professional obligations will be to complete a minimum of 12 hours of NHMCLE-approved continuing legal education each compliance year, July 1-June 30. 

If you were admitted between July 1st and October 1st, you will be required to complete CLE credits no later than October 1st in the next calendar year.  If you were admitted after October 1st and before July 1st, you are exempt from the requirement for the year ending the next June 30th and do not have to meet the requirement until the next year.

Once your initial exemption has passed, CLE completion will be an annual obligation as long as you maintain "active" NH Bar membership status.  Only NHMCLE-approved CLE programs completed after your admission to the NH Bar will meet the requirements of SC Rule 53, unless you were previously admitted to the Bar in another jurisdiction.  If you bring CLE credits with you from another state, please submit an Attorney Credit Application Form for each program to the NHMCLE Office as soon as possible to get those courses approved in NH and entered into your record.  Future applications for programs not presented by an Annual Sponsor should be made within 30 days of course completion.

Please review the Summary of SC Rule 53, including a special section for new lawyers.  You will find the text of SC Rule 53, the regulations, the Annual Sponsor list, and the application form, as well as other information about the NHMCLE requirement, elsewhere on this site.

The NHMCLE Office will advise you of your reported CLE attendance periodically and request that you review your record online to make sure it is correct, provided you have an email address on file with the NHBA.  Unless you have an email address on file, you will not have access to your private, online CLE record.  While the compliance year ends June 30th, you will have to meet the minimum 12 credits no later than October 1st of each year. 

CLE courses sponsored by various organizations are credit worthy and may have been approved in NH.  Inquire whenever you register for a program if the organization has applied for CLE credit in NH. If not, you must apply for credit within 30 days by using the Attorney Credit Application Form.  Additionally, the Web site and the Bar publication, NH Bar News regularly feature an updated list of Annual Sponsors of CLE programs.  Any CLE program presented by these organizations is presumptively approved by the NHMCLE Board for credit, but you must request that your participation be reported to NHMCLE.  NH Bar News, as well as the Web site, will also keep you updated on any procedural or rule changes.

You must keep your CLE records for two years after filing to meet any future audit request.  It is your responsibility, not that of your law firm, to maintain your records and have them available, especially if you change employers.

NH computes its credits based on a 60-minute credit hour of actual class time. Some states, NY, FL, RI, CO, KS, MO, NM, OK, WV, & WI use a 50-minute credit hour. When you submit applications for programs from these states, the credits will be converted to the NH credit hour.

If circumstances lead you out of the country for an extended period, or other extenuating circumstances make you unable to complete the CLE requirement, you must petition the NHMCLE Board for an exemption from part or all of the requirement before the filing deadline of October 1st to avoid late fees and sanctions culminating in suspension from the practice of law specified in Rule and Reg. 53.7. Contact the NHMCLE Office for more information.

It is the aim of the NHMCLE Board to administer an effective and efficient MCLE rule upholding high practice standards in New Hampshire.  If you have any questions about the requirements of SC Rule 53 or its administration, please contact the MCLE office.  Best of luck in your future endeavors.

NHLAP: A confidential Independent Resource

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer