New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Publications
Newsroom
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch
NHMCLE

Everything you need to purchase a court bond is just a click away.

NH Bar's Litigation Guidelines
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
MyNHBar
Member Login
Member Portal
Casemaker

Bar News - November 3, 2006


Filed Your Court Rule 53 Compliance Form for 2006?

           

Now that the Oct. 1 deadline to file Certificates of Compliance has passed, lawyers who remain delinquent, either in completion of CLE credits or in the filing of their signed certificates have been assessed a $50 late-filing fee. Lawyers who received white or pink certificates must sign and return them, certifying compliance with SC Rule 53, the annual CLE requirement. Only those lawyers who received blue certificates do not have to respond.

           

Any lawyer who received a pink form did not have adequate credits to meet the minimum requirement by the end of the compliance year, June 30, 2006. These lawyers must show completion of additional courses that are not listed on the form by attaching a copy of the new course completion/attendance records to the back of the signed certificate before mailing with a check for the late fee, payable to NHMCLE. Lawyers who did not file their white forms by the deadline are also subject to the $50 late fee and should include their checks when they mail their signed certificates. See the NHMCLE SC Rule 53 section of the Web site, www.nhbar.org, for more information.

           

Lawyers who do not complete their filings by Dec. 15, 2006 will be assessed an additional late fee of $100 (see related information box on late fees).

           

The NHMCLE Office is presently updating member records to reflect any changes requested on certificates, as well as adding new courses that members completed after Jun. 30, 2006 for their 2006 compliance. This marks the final phase of the transition to online records of CLE course listings. While new courses will continue to be added as sponsors report attendance, members may not see their records updated fully for a few more weeks.

           

Members are reminded to request that Annual Sponsors report their attendance to NHMCLE and those lawyers are encouraged to check their online records at any time, especially 30 days after attending a sponsorís CLE program. Lawyers can review the complete list of Annual Sponsors (and review the instructions to access their online CLE records) in the NHMCLE section of the Web site.

           

Lawyers who attend programs that have not been approved for CLE credit in New Hampshire may download a copy of the Attorney Credit Application Form from the Web or request it from the NHMCLE Office. These applications should be submitted within 30 days of the program.

 

If you cannot find an answer to your question about the CLE requirement on the Web site, please contact Lee Jones at 603-224-6942, x 3222 or at ljones@nhbar.org.

 

Late Fees and Filing Deadlines

After Oct. 1                   $50

After Dec. 15, add          $100

After Jan. 14, add           $100

After Feb. 13, add          $100

After Mar. 13, add          $100 (and the NHMCLE Board requests suspension to the Supreme Court)

                       

Your New Hampshire resource for professional investigative services since 2005.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
email: NHBAinfo@nhbar.org
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer