New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Publications
Newsroom
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch
NHMCLE

Clio is the most widely-used, cloud-based practice management system in the world.

Order with big business buying power.
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
MyNHBar
Member Login
Member Portal
Casemaker

Bar News - March 7, 2008


When Does the Annual CLE Requirement Have To Be Completed?


June 30th is the end of the 2008 compliance year, and if you complete your CLE credits by this date so that they appear in your online record by August 1, 2008, you will receive a white Certificate of Compliance indicating no response is required unless corrections need to be made.  You will need to have all your course attendance records available in the event you are chosen for audit.

           
Answers to questions about the SC Rule 53 CLE requirements can be found at this Web site at www.nhbar.org/nhmcle.  You can find the link to the NHMCLE portion of the Bar Web site on any page by clicking on the “NHMCLE SC Rule 53” logo on the left hand navigation bar. Bookmark this page to keep up with any changes to filing procedures, to review the Annual Sponsor list and to download the Attorney Credit Application Form to submit within 30 days of course completion from a non-Annual Sponsor.

           
If you do not complete your credits by June 30 OR they do not appear in your online record and on your Certificate of Compliance, you will have to respond no later than October 1, 2008 to avoid a late filing fee.  To respond, you have to complete additional CLE to make up the shortage listed on your Certificate or contact the Annual Sponsor to have your attendance reported and make copies of the course attendance records to accompany your signed Certificate of Compliance when you mail it to NHMCLE. 

           
Lawyers submitting pink Certificates with a postmark later than October 1st will be fined a $50 late filing fee.  On December 1 the fine increases to $150.  Each month after that, the fine increases $100 to a maximum of $450 in March.  Then the names of remaining lawyers, delinquent either in fees or credits, will be sent to the NH Supreme Court with a request for suspension.

           
For any questions, contact Lee Jones at ljones@nhbar.org or call her at 224-6942, ext. 3222.

 

 

 

NHLAP: A confidential Independent Resource

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
email: NHBAinfo@nhbar.org
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer