New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch

Set Your Business Apart - Advertise with NH Bar News!

Visit the NH Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) website for information about how our trained staff can help you find an attorney who is right for you.
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
Member Login
Member Portal

Bar News - May 15, 2009

Jacki Smith Elected to New Public Sector Seat


In the only contested race in this yearís NHBA election, Jacki A. Smith, of the NH Public Defenderís Office, was elected to serve a three-year term as the Board of Governorsí first Public Sector Governor.


The Public Sector seat was added to the Board of Governors when changes to the NHBA Constitution and Bylaws were approved by the membership and the NH Supreme Court last year. A dedicated representative for attorneys working in public sector and public interest settings was a key recommendation of a task force that examined participation of and services provided to Bar members working in these settings.


All active, voting members of the Bar were eligible to vote for the Public Sector Governor post, but only attorneys employed in public-sector or public-interest entities can serve in the position.


Ballots for the Board of Governorsí elections were counted on April 15. Smith won the post, edging out the other candidate Michael T. McCormack, Assistant US Attorney.


Heading next yearís Board of Governors will be James J. Tenn, Jr., the current President-elect. The terms of the 2009-2010 Board begin at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting on June 25-27. 


2009-2010 NHBA
Board of Governors


(Names in bold indicate that persons were elected on this yearís ballot.)


President: James J. Tenn, Jr.

President-elect: Marilyn B. McNamara

Vice President: Jennifer L. Parent

Secretary: Peter E. Hutchins

Treasurer: Robert R. Howard, III


Governor at Large (2 vacancies):

Susan H. Hassan

Lisa A. Wellman-Ally

Lawrence A. Vogelman

Jaye Rancourt

Alexander J. Walker, Jr.


Public Sector Governor:

Jacki A. Smith


County Governors:

Belknap: Dorcas J. Gordon

Carroll: Christopher T. Meier

Cheshire: Sheila J. Burnham

Coos: John G. McCormick

Grafton: Quentin J. Blaine

Hillsborough North: Victor W. Dahar, Jr.

Hillsborough South: Robert M. Shepherd

Merrimack: Kenneth J. Barnes

Rockingham: Philip L. Pettis

Strafford: Christopher T. Regan

Sullivan: David N. Foley

Your New Hampshire resource for professional investigative services since 2005.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer