New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Publications
Newsroom
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch
NHMCLE

Keep your contact information up-to-date.

NH Bar's Litigation Guidelines
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
MyNHBar
Member Login
Member Portal
Casemaker

Bar News - April 16, 2010


Opinion: Concerned about Court Funding – Make Your Voice Heard!

The next few weeks are critical as legislators from both chambers of the NH General Court will be considering amending the budget to account for a significant gap between revenues and expenditures.

The Judicial Branch, which accounts for less than one percent of the total state budget, has seen a disproportionate share of cuts compared to many state departments and agencies. Unpaid furloughs are closing courthouses and slowing the processing and scheduling of cases, hindering access to justice and postponing the resolution of cases that can have an effect on vital needs for citizens.

The New Hampshire Bar Association urges members to contact their state legislators to express their concerns and provide examples of how cuts in court resources are crippling the justice system and access to justice for some of our most vulnerable citizens.

In an effort to assist you in making your views known, below is contact information for members of the NH State Senate. Members of the House are too numerous to list here. Visit the Legislative Branch page for information on the members on the NH House who represent you. (While e-mail addresses are listed, we encourage you to make phone calls or visits to legislators, as your message may be lost in the volume of e-mails lawmakers will be receiving.)

Check www.nhbar.org or the e-bulletin for regular updates on the state budget crisis and the courts. The "Why We Care" pages provide links to relevant news stories and tips and talking points to help you advocate for adequate court resources.

New Hampshire State Senate
(This contact information is publicly available on the NH General Court website)

District 1
John Gallus
292 Prospect Street
Berlin, NH 03570-2137
(H) 603-752-1066 (O) 603-271-3077
john.gallus@leg.state.nh.us

District 2
Deborah Reynolds
5 Chaddarin Lane
Plymouth, NH 03264-4401
(H)  603-536-5553 (O) 603-271-3042
deb.reynolds@leg.state.nh.us

District 3
Jeb Bradley
630 South Main Street
Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4419
(H) 603-387-2365 (O) 603-271-3073
jeb.bradley@leg.state.nh.us

District 4
Kathleen Sgambati
25 Pine Street
Tilton, NH 03276-5535
(H) 603-286-8931 (O) 603-271-2641
kathleen.sgambati@leg.state.nh.us

District 5
Matthew Houde
P.O. Box 66
Meriden, NH 03770-0095
(H) 603-504-2744 (O) 603-271-2104
Matthew.Houde@leg.state.nh.us

District 6
Jacalyn Cilley
2 Oak Hill Road
Barrington, NH 03825-3820
(H) 603-664-5597 (O) 603-271-2642
jacalyn.cilley@leg.state.nh.us

District 7
Harold Janeway
225 Tyler Road
Webster, NH 03303-7733
(O) 603-271-7585
harold.janeway@leg.state.nh.us

District 8
Bob Odell
PO Box 23
Lempster, NH 03605-0023
(H) 603-863-9797 (O) 603-271-6733
bob.odell@leg.state.nh.us

District 9
Sheila Roberge
83 Olde Lantern Road
Bedford, NH 03110-4816
(H) 603-472-8391
sheila.roberge@leg.state.nh.us

District 10
Molly Kelly
89 Colonial Drive
Keene, NH 03431-5002
(H) 603-357-5118 (O) 603-271-4153
molly.kelly@leg.state.nh.us

District 11
Peter Bragdon
P.O. Box 488
Milford, NH 03055-4425
(O) 603-271-2675
peter.bragdon@leg.state.nh.us

District 12
Peggy Gilmour
126 Depot Road
Hollis, NH 03049-0900
(H) 603-465-2336 (O) 603-271-3569
Peggy.Gilmour@leg.state.nh.us

District 13
Bette Lasky
15 Masefield Road
Nashua, NH 03062-2517
(H) 603-888-5557 (O) 603-271-2735
Bette.Lasky@leg.state.nh.us

District 14
Sharon Carson
19 Tokanel Road
Londonderry, NH 03053-3510
(O) 603-271-2674
Sharon.Carson@leg.state.nh.us

District 15
Sylvia Larsen
23 Kensington Road
Concord, NH 03301-4951
(H) 603-225-6130 (O) 603-271-2111
sylvia.larsen@leg.state.nh.us

District 16
David Boutin
1465 Hooksett Road #80
Hooksett, NH 03106-1827
(H) 603-485-5153
dboutin1465@comcast.net

District 17
John Barnes, Jr.
P.O. Box 362
Raymond, NH 03077-3062
(H) 603-895-9352 (O) 603-271-6931
jack.barnes@leg.state.nh.us

District 18 - Betsi DeVries
107 North Main Street, Rm 106
Concord, NH 03301-2528
(O) 603-271-6933
betsi.devries@leg.state.nh.us

District 19
Robert Letourneau
30 South Avenue
Derry, NH 03038-2544
(O) 603-271-2118
robert.letourneau@leg.state.nh.us

District 20
Lou D’Allesandro
332 St. James Avenue
Manchester, NH 03102-4950
(H) 603-669-3494 (O) 603-271-2600
dalas@leg.state.nh.us

District 21
Amanda Merrill
8 Meadow Road
Durham, NH 03824-3006
(H) 603-868-2491 (O) 603-271-7803
Amanda.Merrill@leg.state.nh.us

District 22
Michael Downing
7 Darryl Lane
Salem, NH 03079-2007
(O) 603-271-8630
michael.downing@leg.state.nh.us

District 23
Margaret Hassan
107 North Main Street, Rm 302
Concord, NH 03301-2528
(H) 603-772-4187 (O) 603-271-2111
maggie.hassan@leg.state.nh.us

District 24
Martha Fuller Clark
107 North Main Street, Rm 302
Concord, NH 03301-2528
(O) 603-271-4152
martha.fullerclark@leg.state.nh.us

Supreme Court Rule 42(9) requires all NH admitted attorneys to notify the Bar Association of any address change, home or office.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
email: NHBAinfo@nhbar.org
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer