New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch

Everything you need to purchase a court bond is just a click away.

NH Bar's Litigation Guidelines
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
Member Login
Member Portal

Bar News - November 19, 2010

Election Results Roundup: Bar Members in Office

Congratulations to all of those Bar members who campaigned hard in their bids for elective office, and special congratulations to those who prevailed in the Nov. 2 general election.

If you are interested in reading candidates’ answers to the Bar News survey, visit Answers from those candidates who responded to the survey are posted, with the winning candidates indicated.

Bar News is interested in reporting on which Bar members will be serving in public office. You can aid our best efforts to recognize Bar members in the election results with your suggestions. Send info to

Winners from the NH Bar Association’s ranks include:

Top of the Ticket

*Kelly Ayotte - US Senate
John Lynch – Governor, reelected to an unprecedented fourth term.
*Dan St. Hilaire - Executive Council (Dist. 2)

NH Senate

*Gary Lambert - NH Senate (Dist. 13) Matthew Houde - NH Senate (Dist. 5)

NH House

*J. Brandon Giuda (Merrimack Dist. 7)
Lynne Blankenbeker (Merrimack Dist. 11)
Edward Moran (Hillsborough Dist. 18)
David Hess (Merrimack Dist. 9)
Gary Richardson (Merrimack Dist. 4)
Robert Rowe (Hillsborough Dist. 6)
William L. O'Brien (Hillsborough Dist. 4)
*Marie Sapienza (Rockingham Dist. 8)
Tony Soltani (Merrimack Dist. 8)
Gregory Sorg (Grafton Dist. 3)

(* indicates those elected to the office for the first time.)

County Attorney Races

In the four County Attorney races contested this year, Republican candidates won, including the unseating of incumbents in two counties. Below are the elected county attorneys:

Belknap: James M. Carroll.
Carroll: Thomas E. Dewhurst, III defeats incumbent Robin J. Gordon.
Cheshire: Peter W. Heed.
Coos: Robert K. Mekeel.
Grafton: Lara Joan Saffo (acting County Attorney) elected to full term, after completing unexpired term of Rick St. Hilaire.
Hillsborough: Dennis Hogan unseats incumbent Robert Walsh and Independent Richard Pennington.
Merrimack: Scott Murray defeats Katherine D. Rogers.
Rockingham: Jim Reams, a Republican, re-elected, holding off David Mirsky.
Strafford: Thomas Velardi.
Sullivan: Marc Hathaway.

Other County Offices

Brownyn Asplund-Walsh was elected Merrimack County Commissioner.

Incumbents were returned to office in the Register of Probate and Register of Wills contests around the state, except in Rockingham County where Andrew Christie unseated the incumbent Register of Probate Deborah Crapo. Bar member Cathy Stacey was reelected Register of Deeds.

Supreme Court Rule 42(9) requires all NH admitted attorneys to notify the Bar Association of any address change, home or office.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer