New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Publications
Newsroom
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch
NHMCLE

Keep your contact information up-to-date.

Order with big business buying power.
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
MyNHBar
Member Login
Member Portal
Casemaker

Bar News - October 18, 2013


Talking About Teen Dating Violence

NHBA President Jaye Rancourt is convening a work group to develop an informational program for New Hampshire schools to teach students about the problem – and the consequences – of teen dating violence.

She intends for the program to discuss how to identify signs of abuse in relationships and explain the potential legal consequences in New Hampshire of abusive behavior in a dating relationship. The information developed will be available for lawyers participating in the Lawyer and Judge in Every School visits that take place in May.

Anyone interested in participating should contact Rancourt.

Did you know...
• Nearly 1.5 million high school students nationwide experience physical abuse from a dating partner in a single year.

• One in four high school girls have been victims of physical or sexual abuse.

• Girls and young women between the ages of 16 and 24 experience the highest rate of intimate-partner violence; almost triple the national average.

• Violent behavior typically begins between the ages of 12 and 18.

• The severity of intimate partner violence is often greater in cases where the pattern of abuse was established in adolescence.

• Half of youth who have been victims of both dating violence and rape attempt suicide, compared to 12.5% of non-abused girls and 5.4% of non-abused boys.
  • Only 33 percent of teens who were in a violent relationship ever told anyone about the abuse.

• 81 percent of parents believe teen dating violence is not an issue or admit they don’t know whether it’s an issue.

• A teen’s confusion about the law and the desire for confidentiality are two of the most significant barriers stopping young victims of abuse from seeking help.

• New Hampshire is the only state where the law specifically allows a minor of any age to apply for a protection order; more than half of states do not specify the minimum age of a petitioner.

Source: Breakthecycle.org


NHLAP: A confidential Independent Resource

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
email: NHBAinfo@nhbar.org
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer