New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch

Set Your Business Apart - Advertise with NH Bar News!

Visit the NH Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) website for information about how our trained staff can help you find an attorney who is right for you.
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
Member Login
Member Portal

Bar News - May 18, 2016

NHBA Elects New Officers and Board Members

Scott Harris

David McGrath

Kristin Fields

Jim Cowles

Dan Will

Sarah Lavoie

The NH Bar Association announced the election of new officers and members of the NHBA Board of Governors for the upcoming year, which begins in June.

Scott Harris, a shareholder/director at McLane Middleton in Manchester, currently the Vice President of the NHBA, was elected to the position of President-Elect. However, due to former Manchester attorney and former NHBA President-elect David Ruoff being appointed as a justice of the New Hampshire Superior Court, and Ruoff’s subsequent resignation from the NHBA Board of Governors, Harris will coordinate the Bar leadership fulfilling the duties of President for 2016-17 year, succeeding current President Mary Tenn, a partner at Tenn and Tenn in Manchester. Harris is on the leadership track and would then become President of the association for the 2017-18 year.

David McGrath, president and managing director at Sheehan Phinney Bass + Green in Manchester, was elected Vice President of the NHBA board. He served as the Hillsborough North County Governor from 2014 to 2016. The position of Vice President puts McGrath on the leadership track to becoming President after two years as an officer.

Four newcomers were elected to County Governor seats (two-year terms) on the NH Bar Association Board of Governors: Kristin Fields of Martin, Lord & Osman (Laconia), Belknap County; Jim Cowles of Walker & Varney (Wolfboro), Carroll County; Dan Will of Devine Millimet (Manchester), Hillsborough North; Sarah Lavoie of Burns Bryant (Dover), Strafford County.

Cathy Shanelaris of Shanelaris & Schirch in Nashua was reelected to the Hillsborough South seat. Because there were no nomination petitions submitted, the board will appoint a Sullivan County governor.

Also reelected to the board were John Curran of Curtin, Murphy & O’Reilly in Nashua, now serving as Governor-at-Large, and Jennifer Parent of McLane Middleton in Manchester, a past NHBA president, now serving as ABA Association Delegate.

The NHBA Board of Governors is a volunteer board that meets monthly to govern the association. Active members of the Bar Association from around the state vote for officers and governors-at-large, with active members in each county electing their county representative.

The Board of Governors is composed of six officers, 11 county governors, five governors-at-large (no more than three of whom may come from the same county), an at-large governor representing the public sector, and one representing members with primary offices located outside New Hampshire. The officers serve one-year terms; the county governors serve two-year terms, and governors-at-large serve three-year terms.

The next meeting of the Board of Governors is scheduled for Thursday, May 19, at the NH Bar Center in Concord.

Your New Hampshire resource for professional investigative services since 2005.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer