New Hampshire Bar Association
About the Bar
For Members
For the Public
Legal Links
Publications
Newsroom
Online Store
Vendor Directory
NH Bar Foundation
Judicial Branch
NHMCLE

A confidential, independent resource for NH lawyers, judges and law students.

Visit the NH Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) website for information about how our trained staff can help you find an attorney who is right for you.
New Hampshire Bar Association
Lawyer Referral Service Law Related Education NHBA CLE NHBA Insurance Agency
MyNHBar
Member Login
Member Portal
Casemaker

Bar News - June 21, 2017


Don’t Forget: A Brief Note on NHMCLE Compliance

It’s that time of year again.

Most New Hampshire Bar Association members who have held active status for more than six months during the reporting period that ends June 30, 2017, are required to complete the annual Supreme Court Rule 53 NH Minimum Continuing Legal Education (NHMCLE) requirements, including filing the online affidavit of compliance.

Most Bar members who have held active membership status for less than six months do not need to complete the minimum requirement, but they do need to file an exempt affidavit, per NH Supreme Court Rule 53.2.

To report attendance at qualifying non-NH Bar continuing legal education seminars, members should log in to the Attorney Reporting Tool (ART) from the MyNHBar dashboard and enter instruction time in minutes on the “New Entry” page. NHBA CLE programs will be entered directly into each member’s ART account.

Members can review and verify their credit status on the “My Record” page on ART for the current reporting year (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) at any time. Section C of that page shows the minutes accrued for the courses that have been entered. When the minutes earned equals or exceeds the minimums shown in parentheses, the requirement has been met.

The affidavit tab on the My Record page is now active. After the credit requirement has been met, members must electronically file their affidavits. When the process is complete, the red NHMCLE bar on the MyNHBAR dashboard will turn green. (Please allow two business days after completion for the dashboard to update this status.)

The grace period for NHMCLE compliance ends July 31, 2017. The consequences of overlooking completion of reporting requirements can be costly. Beginning Aug. 1, a $50 late-filing fee will be assessed. Beginning Sept. 1, an additional late filing fee of $250 will be assessed.

In September, the NHMCLE Board will be required to send the names of noncompliant members to the New Hampshire Supreme Court. Noncompliant members may have to appear before the Court to explain why they are not in compliance.

Please contact the NHMCLE office at nhmcle@nhbar.org with any questions.

If you are in doubt about the status of any meeting, please call the Bar Center at 603-224-6942 before you head out.

Home | About the Bar | For Members | For the Public | Legal Links | Publications | Online Store
Lawyer Referral Service | Law-Related Education | NHBA•CLE | NHBA Insurance Agency | NHMCLE
Search | Calendar

New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300, Concord NH 03301
phone: (603) 224-6942 fax: (603) 224-2910
email: NHBAinfo@nhbar.org
© NH Bar Association Disclaimer