NH Bar Foundation News

June 2016

Congratulations to New Fellows

The NH Bar Foundation’s Fellows program, which honors excellence in the profession and seeks to provide sustainable charitable support for the Foundation, was revived with great success at the June 8 Fellows Justice Reception, held June 8 at the Currier Museum of Art in Manchester.

Thirty-seven Fellows were nominated and inducted in conjunction with the event, with each new Fellow pledging $2,000 to the Foundation. This funding is vitally needed to support the charitable purposes of the Foundation. The Fellows have so far contributed $12,900.

Inducted at the Fellows Justice Reception held June 8, 2016

• Heather M. Burns
• Meredith P. Cook
• Peter S. Cowan
• Michael A. Delaney
• Mary Ann Dempsey
• Joseph A. DiBrigida, Jr.
• Steven J. Dutton
• David P. Eby
• Jonathan M. Eck
• Melinda S. Gehris
• James D. Gleason
• Richard C. Guerriero, Jr.
• Holly B. Haines
• Cecile B. Hartigan
• Russell F. Hilliard
• Lucy C. Hodder
• Lauren Simon Irwin
• Christopher M. Keating
• Michele E. Kenney
• Margaret R. Kerouac
• James D. Kerouac
• Robert R. Lucic
• Gordon J. MacDonald
• David W. McGrath
• Mark D. Morrissette
• Jennifer L. Parent
• Jaye L. Rancourt
• David M. Rothstein
• Mark C. Rouvalis
• Catherine Shanelaris
• Laura Spector-Morgan
• R. James Steiner
• Mary E. Tenn
• James J. Tenn, Jr.
• Jeremy T. Walker
• Daniel E. Will
• Jane E. Young

Fellows Reception: Truly a ‘Great Event’


In his Publisher’s Notebook column in the June 12 issue of the Union Leader, Publisher Joe McQuaid described his participation in the Fellows Justice Event under the headline: “Bar Foundation’s Great Event.” McQuaid, who was the guest speaker at the June 8 NH Bar Foundation Justice Fellows Reception, had been introduced by NHBF Vice Chair Jim Tenn, who had held up a suggested front page for the Union Leader with the suggested ‘great event’ headline.

In his column, McQuaid observed that the Foundation had unveiled its first Nixon-Zachos award in honor of David Nixon and Kimon Zachos. The award was fittingly presented to Jack Middleton, the surviving member of the trio of “three amigos” that were “hard-working lawyers with integrity and intellect” McQuaid said. He also was amused by the remarks of special honoree Judge Arthur Bean who had amused and inspired the reception gathering with remarks that were humorous and serious about the state of access to justice today. Read McQuaid's column.

Kenison, Kirby Award Nominees – Last Call!

Nominations are needed by June 30 for two major awards to be presented at the NH Bar Foundation Annual Dinner on Wednesday, Sept. 21 at the Radisson Hotel/Center of NH in Manchester.

2016 Frank Rowe Kenison Award
The Kenison Award recognizes an individual (or individuals) who makes substantial contributions to the betterment of New Hampshire citizens through the administration of justice, the legal profession, or the advancement of legal thought. Nomination form.

Frank Rowe Kenison (1907-1980) was a member of the New Hampshire Bar Association for 48 years, and served as Chief Justice of the New Hampshire Supreme Court from 1952 to 1977. He was an exquisite legal thinker who committed his life to the legal system, education about the law, and the promise of equal justice for all.

Recent Kenison Award recipients have included Chief Justice Linda Dalianis, Judge Ken McHugh and Amy Messer, Claire Ebel, and the late David Nixon.

Watch the video that tells the story of the Kirby award and its impact on recipients.

2016 Robert E. Kirby Award
The Robert E. Kirby Award was established in 1996 to honor the memory of Bob Kirby, a young lawyer "of great skill, civility and good humor" who died that year at the age of 35. Kirby was an attorney with the Concord law firm of Gallagher, Callahan & Gartrell. The purpose of the award is to honor Bob's memory and to remind all of us that decency, courtesy and perspective neither inhibits nor defeats excellent advocacy. The Kirby Award recipient is an attorney 35 years old or younger who demonstrates the traits of civility, courtesy, perspective and excellent advocacy. Nomination form.

Recent recipients include Jonathan Eck (2015), Julian Jefferson (2014) and (now NH Senator) Dan Feltes (2013).

IOLTA Grants Committee Nominations Due July 15

The NH Bar Foundation is seeking nominations to fill a seat on the five-member IOLTA Grants Committee. Attorneys participating in the IOLTA Program may nominate themselves or another attorney. Nominations will be accepted through July 15, 2016. If more than one person is nominated, an online ballot will be emailed to attorneys participating in the IOLTA Program. Nomination form.

About the NH Bar Foundation

The New Hampshire Bar Foundation promotes the role of lawyers in securing equal access to justice and supports the charitable and educational aims of the New Hampshire Bar and its members.

Read more: Mission of the New Hampshire Bar.
Contact: Lisha Brosseau, NHBF program coordinator.

Support NH Bar Foundation by shopping online!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, Amazon donates 0.5% of the purchase price to New Hampshire Bar Foundation. Bookmark the AmazonSmile link and support us every time you shop.

Copyright © 2016 New Hampshire Bar Foundation, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp