The Bar’s Annual Meeting provides an opportunity to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of members of the legal community and their contributions to the justice system and the Association.

Nominations are sought for the following awards:

Justice William A. Grimes Award For Judicial Professionalism

To honor the memory of Justice William A. Grimes this award is presented to a judge the best fits the following:

“The judges therefore should always be men of learning and experience in the laws, of exemplary morals, great patience, calmness, coolness and attention.  Their minds should not be distracted with jarring interests; they should not be dependent upon any man or body of men.” ~ John Adams, 1776

Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession Award

This award is presented to the nominee who best exhibits service to the legal profession.

E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism

To honor the memory of E. Donald Dufresne this award is presented to an attorney the best fits the following:

“A professional lawyer is an expert in law pursuing a learned art in service to clients and in the spirit of public service; And engaging in these pursuits as part of a common calling To promote justice and public good.”

Nominations for any of these awards can be submitted by form below, email or US mail:– or sent US Mail to:

Allison Borowy, NHBA Annual Meeting Awards
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300
Concord, NH 03301-3502

[caldera_form id=”CF5e5e7cb05eeb5″]

Justice William A Grimes Award for Judicial Professionalism

2019 Chief Justice Robert J. Lynn
2018 Hon. Gillian L. Abramson
2017 Justice Carol Ann Conboy
2016 Hon. J. Michael Deasy
2015 Hon. Pamela D. Albee
2014 Hon. Albert Cirone Jr. (retired)
2013 Hon. Harold W. Perkins (retired)
2012 Hon. Steven Houran
2011 Hon. Paul Moore
2010 Chief Justice John T. Broderick
2009 Hon. Pamela D. Kelly
2008 Hon. Raymond A. Cloutier
2007 Hon. Joseph A. DiClerico, Jr.
2006 Hon. Martha W. Copithorne (Marital Master ret.)
2005 Hon. Paul H. Lawrence
2004 Hon. John R. Maher
2003 Hon. Patricia C. Coffey, Hon. Carol Ann Conboy, Hon. Kathleen A. McGuire and Hon. Robert E.K. Morrill
2002 NH Supreme Court Bench: Hon. David A. Brock, Chief Justice, Hon. John T. Broderick, Jr., Hon. Joseph P. Nadeau, Hon. Linda S. Dalianis and Hon. James E. Duggan
2001 Hon. Gerald F. Giles
2000 Marital Master Peter J. Bourque
1999 *Hon. Walter L. Murphy

Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession Award

2019 Jennifer A. Eber
2018 Wilfred “Jack” Sanders, Jr.
2017 Charles Douglas
2016 Justice Carol Ann Conboy
2015 John Burwell Garvey
2014 Mary Searles
2013 James R. Starr
2012 Philip Waystack
2011 Robert A. Wells
2010 John B. Andrews
2009 Charles A. DeGrandpre
2008 Gretchen L. Witt
2007 Hon. John R. Maher (retired)
2006 John F. Bomster
2005 Michael S. DeLucia
2004 Edward H. Adamsky
2003 Robert C. Varney
2002 Bruce W. Felmly
2001 Howard J. Zibel
1999 William S. Harrold; John C. Norton
1998 Richard Y. Uchida
1997 Andrew D. Dunn
1996 Hon. William F. Batchelder
1994 Stephen L. Tober; Linda S. Paquette
1993 Paul W. Chant
1992 Nashua Bar Association, Donald E. Mitchell & Deskbook Committee
1991 Edward B. Mulligan, IV
1990 Jack B. Middleton, Senator Warren B. Rudman

E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism

2019 William C. Saturley
2018 James J. Tenn, Jr.
2017 George Moore
2016 R. David DePuy
2015 Hon. John Kissinger
201 4Eileen Fox
2013 Thomas R. Watson
2012 Gretchen L. Witt
2011 John B. Garvey
2010 Christopher M. Keating
2009 Graham P. Chynoweth (posthumously at the Midyear Meeting)
2008 Peter G. Beeson
2006 Emily G. Rice
2005 Arpiar G. Saunders
2004 Cathy J. Green
2003 Frederic K. Upton
2002 Dort S. Bigg
2001 Randall F. Cooper
2000 Arnold R. Falk (posthumously)
1999 *William L. Chapman