Deadline for Nominations – April 24, 2023

The Bar’s Annual Meeting provides an opportunity to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of members of the legal community and their contributions to the justice system. Your inspiration for making the nomination is of great value to the Bar President during the selection process. Please be sure to include background about the nominee, as well as the reasons you feel they are deserving of the award.

To submit the nomination, please go to where you will also find a list of past recipients.

Nominations are sought for the following awards:

Justice William A. Grimes Award For Judicial Professionalism

To honor the memory of Justice William A. Grimes this award is presented to a judge that best fits the following ideals:

“The judges therefore should always be men of learning and experience
in the laws, of exemplary morals, great patience, calmness, coolness
and attention. Their minds should not be distracted with jarring interests;
they should not be dependent upon any man or body of men.”
John Adams, 1776

Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession Award

This award is presented to the nominee who best exhibits service to the legal profession.

E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism

To honor the memory of E. Donald Dufresne this award is presented to an attorney that best fits the following ideals:

“A professional lawyer is an expert in law
Pursuing a learned art in service to clients and in the spirit of public service;
And engaging in these pursuits as part of a common calling
To promote justice and public good.”